CVE-2026-96889: Librsvg: use-after-free when xml includes have duplicated entities
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
A flaw was found in librsvg. When processing an SVG document containing nested XML inclusions (Xincludes) with duplicate entity declarations, a use-after-free error can occur. This vulnerability arises because the library incorrectly frees an XML entity that is still in use by the parser. An attacker could potentially exploit this to cause a denial of service or execute arbitrary code.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by redhat, published 2026-09-23).
Weakness: Use After Free
How it can be exploited
Exploitable with local access with low attack complexity needing no privileges and a user must take an action. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses that a public proof of concept exists. Automatable: no. Technical impact: total.
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2026-17157, EUVD-2026-106914, EUVD-2026-85608, GHSA-cpvr-w4j5-2mpg, GHSA-j56w-ppx9-7qff
VEDAS cluster: VEDAS:DOUBTFULHIPPO
Exploit Observer links 1 piece of public exploit code or detection modules that name this CVE or one of its aliases.
Exploit code and modules (1)
Code that names this CVE. A repository can be a working exploit, a scanner, a fake or malware; read it before running anything.
- Code repository: https://github.com/lion9453/cve-2026-96889-nextjs-rce
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (12)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/cve-2026-96889
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2026-106914
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2026-85608
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-cpvr-w4j5-2mpg
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-j56w-ppx9-7qff
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-96889
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://osv.dev/vulnerability/GHSA-cpvr-w4j5-2mpg
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://osv.dev/vulnerability/ROOT-OS-DEBIAN-12-CVE-2026-96889
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://osv.dev/vulnerability/ROOT-OS-DEBIAN-13-CVE-2026-96889
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://osv.dev/vulnerability/UBUNTU-CVE-2026-96889
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://ubuntu.com/security/CVE-2026-96889
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.suse.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-96889
50 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.006
low predicted chance of attack - VEDAS
- 0.246
little exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Not listed
- Detection rule
- Out of scope (local)
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (glycin-loaders) | Not stated | 0:1.0.1-1.el10_2.2 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10 (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.57.1-9.el10_2.10 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10.0 Extended Update Support (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.57.1-9.el10_0.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 10.0 Extended Update Support (glycin-loaders) | Not stated | 0:1.0.1-1.el10_0.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 Extended Lifecycle Support (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.40.20-1.el7_9.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.42.7-6.el8_10 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.4 Advanced Mission Critical Update Support (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.42.7-4.el8_4.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.4 Extended Update Support Long-Life Add-On (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.42.7-4.el8_4.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.6 Advanced Mission Critical Update Support (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.42.7-4.el8_6.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.6 Extended Update Support Long-Life Add-On (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.42.7-4.el8_6.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.8 Telecommunications Update Service (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.42.7-4.el8_8.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.8 Update Services for SAP Solutions (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.42.7-4.el8_8.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9 (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.50.7-3.el9_8.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.2 Update Services for SAP Solutions (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.50.7-1.el9_2.2 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.4 Update Services for SAP Solutions (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.50.7-3.el9_4.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.6 Extended Update Support (librsvg2) | Not stated | 0:2.50.7-3.el9_6.1 is not affected (up to *) |
| Red Hat Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 (librsvg2) | Not stated | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: crates.io librsvg.
How to fix it
Vendor guidance:
- RHSA-2026:86331 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:86841 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:86842 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:86921 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92212 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92213 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92214 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92218 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
5 more
- RHSA-2026:92336 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92353 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92382 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92573 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92579 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
How to detect it
This bug needs local access to exploit. VEDAS signatures cover remotely exploitable bugs for now, so there is no network rule or remote check for it. Patch it and watch your endpoint telemetry for unusual local activity.
Advisories on this CVE
- Next.js October 2026 security release: two critical RCEs, and check your sharp version (full advisory)
- Next.js out-of-band security release (14 Oct 2026)
References
Vendor advisories and patches
- RHSA-2026:86331 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:86841 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:86842 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:86921 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92212 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92213 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92214 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92218 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92336 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92353 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92382 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- RHSA-2026:92573 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
1 more
- RHSA-2026:92579 (vendor-advisory, x_refsource_REDHAT)
Exploits and technical analysis
- RHBZ#2539279 (issue-tracking, x_refsource_REDHAT)
Other references
- https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/CVE-2026-96889 (vdb-entry, x_refsource_REDHAT)
- https://crates.io/crates/librsvg
- https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/librsvg/-/work_items/1241
- https://rustsec.org/advisories/RUSTSEC-2026-0305.html
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.