CVE-2026-7273: Zyxel GS1900 Series Switches Stack-Based Buffer Overflow Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
A stack-based buffer overflow vulnerability in the CGI program of Zyxel GS1900-48HPv2 firmware versions through 2.90(ABTQ.1)C0 could allow a LAN-based, unauthenticated attacker to exploit the flaw and potentially execute OS commands via a crafted HTTP request.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by Zyxel, published 2026-06-16).
Weakness: CWE-121 Stack-based buffer overflow
How it can be exploited
Exploitable from an adjacent network with low attack complexity needing no privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:A/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: total.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2026-09-21
- US federal deadline
- 2026-09-24
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2026-15011, EUVD-2026-37030, GHSA-rrv4-8jq5-8j78
Exploit Observer has no public exploit code that names this CVE or one of its aliases.
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (4)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2026-37030
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-rrv4-8jq5-8j78
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-7273
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-7273
4 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.028
some chance of attack soon - VEDAS
- 0.514
some exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2026-09-21
- Detection rule
- None yet
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish. The vertical line is the day CISA added it to its exploited list.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Zyxel GS1900-48HPv2 firmware | version <= 2.90(ABTQ.1)C0 | Not stated |
| Zyxel GS1900-8 firmware | version <= 2.90(AAHH.1)C0 | Not stated |
| Zyxel GS1900-8HP firmware | version <= 2.90(AAHI.1)C0 | Not stated |
| Zyxel GS1900-10HP firmware | version <= 2.90(AAZI.1)C0 | Not stated |
| Zyxel GS1900-16 firmware | version <= 2.90(AAHJ.1)C0 | Not stated |
| Zyxel GS1900-24 firmware | version <= 2.90(AAHL.1)C0 | Not stated |
| Zyxel GS1900-24E firmware | version <= 2.90(AAHK.1)C0 | Not stated |
| Zyxel GS1900-24EP firmware | version <= 2.90(ABTO.1)C0 | Not stated |
| Zyxel GS1900-24HPv2 firmware | version <= 2.90(ABTP.1)C0 | Not stated |
| Zyxel GS1900-48 firmware | version <= 2.90(AAHN.1)C0 | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: zyxel gs1900-10hp_firmware, zyxel gs1900-16_firmware, zyxel gs1900-24_firmware, zyxel gs1900-24e_firmware, zyxel gs1900-24ep_firmware, zyxel gs1900-24hpv2_firmware, zyxel gs1900-48_firmware, zyxel gs1900-48hpv2_firmware, zyxel gs1900-8_firmware, zyxel gs1900-8hp_firmware.
How to fix it
CISA required action: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset’s internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines.
Vendor guidance:
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
References
Vendor advisories and patches
Exploits and technical analysis
- https://www.greynoise.io/blog/open-season-on-kapibala-attacker-steals-government-records-wordpress-exploitation (third-party-advisory)
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-7273 (government-resource)
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.