CVE-2026-41709: Broadcom VMWare ESX Insufficient Logging Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
VMware ESX contains an insufficient logging vulnerability. A malicious administrator could exploit this issue to perform certain operations without them being logged.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by vmware, published 2026-07-30).
Weakness: CWE-778 Insufficient logging
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity needing high privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality none, integrity low, availability none. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:L/A:N
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: partial.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2026-10-28
- US federal deadline
- 2026-11-11
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2026-17873, EUVD-2026-51107, GHSA-vpqj-56x2-gp9p
Exploit Observer has no public exploit code that names this CVE or one of its aliases.
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (5)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2026-51107
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-vpqj-56x2-gp9p
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-41709
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://support.broadcom.com/web/ecx/support-content-notification/-/external/content/SecurityAdvisories/VMSA-2026-0006--VMware-ESX--vCenter--Workstation--and-Fusion-updates-address-multiple-vulnerabilities--CVE-2026-59309--CVE-2026-59310--CVE-2026-47876--CVE-2026-41703--CVE-2026-41709-/38017
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-41709
9 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.007
low predicted chance of attack - VEDAS
- 0.513
some exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2026-10-28
- Detection rule
- None yet
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish. The vertical line is the day CISA added it to its exploited list.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| VMware Cloud Foundation | version 9.1.x.x version 9.0.x.x from 5.x before 5.2.4 | Not stated |
| VMware vSphere Foundation | version 9.1.x.x version 9.0.x.x | Not stated |
| VMware ESX | from 9.1.x.x before ESXi-9.1.0.0-25370933 from 9.0.x.x before ESXi-9.0.2.0100-25595025 from 8.0 before ESXi80U3j-25429389 | Not stated |
| VMware Telco Cloud Platform | version 5.1.x version 5.0.x | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: broadcom_inc. vmware_cloud_foundation, broadcom_inc. vmware_esx_(legacy), broadcom_inc. vmware_telco_cloud_platform, broadcom_inc. vmware_vsphere_foundation, vmware esxi.
How to fix it
Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 5.2.4, ESXi-9.1.0.0-25370933, ESXi-9.0.2.0100-25595025, ESXi80U3j-25429389.
CISA required action: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset’s internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines.
Vendor guidance:
- https://support.broadcom.com/web/ecx/support-content-notification/-/external/content/SecurityAdvisories/0/38017
- https://www.cisa.gov/news-events/directives/bod-26-04-prioritizing-security-updates-based-risk
- https://www.cisa.gov/news-events/directives/bod-26-04-implementation-guidance-prioritizing-security-updates-based-risk
- https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-41709
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
Advisories on this CVE
- ARMORY CASTLE / Warp Panda (formerly UNC5221): BeyondTrust Remote Support zero-day and VMware ESX logging zero-day (28 Oct 2026)
- VMware vCenter Syslog directory traversal to RCE (CVE-2026-59310, plus CVE-2026-59309) (18 Aug 2026)
References
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-41709 (government-resource)
Other references
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.