CVE-2026-33824: Microsoft Internet Key Exchange (IKE) Service Extensions Double Free Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
Double free in Windows IKE Extension allows an unauthorized attacker to execute code over a network.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by microsoft, published 2026-04-14).
Weakness: CWE-415: Double Free
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity needing no privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H/E:U/RL:O/RC:C
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: yes. Technical impact: total.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2026-08-18
- US federal deadline
- 2026-08-21
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2026-05343, EUVD-2026-22641, GHSA-q6qf-3m2m-xq4f
Exploit Observer links 2 pieces of public exploit code or detection modules that name this CVE or one of its aliases.
Exploit code and modules (2)
Code that names this CVE. A repository can be a working exploit, a scanner, a fake or malware; read it before running anything.
- Code repository: https://github.com/kaleth4/cve-2026-33824
- Code repository: https://github.com/z3r0h3ro/cve-2026-33824
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (7)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2026-22641
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-q6qf-3m2m-xq4f
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://msrc.microsoft.com/update-guide/en-US/vulnerability/CVE-2026-33824
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-33824
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-33824
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.vicarius.io/vsociety/posts/cve-2026-33824-detection-script-windows-ike-service-extensions-rce
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.vicarius.io/vsociety/posts/cve-2026-33824-mitigation-script-windows-ike-service-extensions-rce
7 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.771
very likely to be attacked soon - VEDAS
- 0.924
strong exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2026-08-18
- Detection rule
- None yet
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish. The vertical line is the day CISA added it to its exploited list.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft Windows 10 Version 1607 | from 10.0.14393.0 before 10.0.14393.9060 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows 10 Version 1809 | from 10.0.17763.0 before 10.0.17763.8644 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows 10 Version 21H2 | from 10.0.19044.0 before 10.0.19044.7184 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows 10 Version 22H2 | from 10.0.19045.0 before 10.0.19045.7184 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows 11 version 23H2 | from 10.0.22631.0 before 10.0.22631.6936 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows 11 Version 23H2 | from 10.0.22631.0 before 10.0.22631.6936 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows 11 Version 24H2 | from 10.0.26100.0 before 10.0.26100.8246 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows 11 Version 25H2 | from 10.0.26200.0 before 10.0.26200.8246 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows 11 version 26H1 | from 10.0.28000.0 before 10.0.28000.1836 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows Server 2016 | from 10.0.14393.0 before 10.0.14393.9060 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows Server 2016 (Server Core installation) | from 10.0.14393.0 before 10.0.14393.9060 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows Server 2019 | from 10.0.17763.0 before 10.0.17763.8644 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows Server 2019 (Server Core installation) | from 10.0.17763.0 before 10.0.17763.8644 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows Server 2022 | from 10.0.20348.0 before 10.0.20348.5020 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows Server 2022, 23H2 Edition (Server Core installation) | from 10.0.25398.0 before 10.0.25398.2274 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows Server 2025 | from 10.0.26100.0 before 10.0.26100.32690 | Not stated |
| Microsoft Windows Server 2025 (Server Core installation) | from 10.0.26100.0 before 10.0.26100.32690 | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: microsoft windows_10_1607, microsoft windows_10_1809, microsoft windows_10_21h2, microsoft windows_10_22h2, microsoft windows_11_23h2, microsoft windows_11_24h2, microsoft windows_11_25h2, microsoft windows_11_26h1, microsoft windows_server_2016, microsoft windows_server_2019.
How to fix it
Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 10.0.14393.9060, 10.0.17763.8644, 10.0.19044.7184, 10.0.19045.7184, 10.0.22631.6936, 10.0.26100.8246, 10.0.26200.8246, 10.0.28000.1836, 10.0.20348.5020, 10.0.25398.2274, 10.0.26100.32690.
CISA required action: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset’s internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines.
Vendor guidance:
- Windows Internet Key Exchange (IKE) Service Extensions Remote Code Execution Vulnerability (vendor-advisory, patch)
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
References
Vendor advisories and patches
- Windows Internet Key Exchange (IKE) Service Extensions Remote Code Execution Vulnerability (vendor-advisory, patch)
Exploits and technical analysis
- https://unit42.paloaltonetworks.com/autonomous-ai-cyber-attack-campaign/ (third-party-advisory)
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-33824 (government-resource)
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.