CVE-2026-0322: Palo Alto Networks PAN-OS Code Injection Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
A remote code execution (RCE) vulnerability in the management interface of Palo Alto Networks PAN-OS® software enables an authenticated attacker with network access to execute arbitrary code with root privileges on the firewall. The security risk posed by this issue is minimized by restricting access to the management interface to only trusted internal IP addresses according to our recommended best practice deployment guidelines https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/t5/community-blogs/tips-amp-tricks-how-to-secure-the-management-access-of-your-palo/ba-p/464431 . This issue is applicable to PAN-OS software on PA-Series and VM-Series firewalls and on Panorama (virtual and M-Series). Cloud NGFW and Prisma® Access are not impacted by this vulnerability.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by palo_alto, published 2026-10-14).
Weakness: CWE-94 Improper Control of Generation of Code (‘Code Injection’)
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity with no special attack requirements needing high privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:H/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/E:A/AU:N/R:U/V:D/RE:M/U:Red
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: total.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2026-10-14
- US federal deadline
- 2026-10-17
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2026-16581, EUVD-2026-101495, GHSA-9fh3-97mp-7wmv
Exploit Observer has no public exploit code that names this CVE or one of its aliases.
Research and write-ups (1)
- Research or write-up: https://socprime.com/blog/cve-2026-0322-analysis
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (5)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2026-101495
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-9fh3-97mp-7wmv
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2026-0322
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://security.paloaltonetworks.com/CVE-2026-0322
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-0322
News (1)
11 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.017
some chance of attack soon - VEDAS
- 0.512
some exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2026-10-14
- Detection rule
- None yet
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Palo Alto Networks Cloud NGFW | Not stated | All is not affected |
| Palo Alto Networks PAN-OS | from 12.2.0 before 12.2.4 from 12.1.0 before 12.1.10-h2 from 11.2.0 before 11.2.16 from 11.1.0 before 11.1.16-h3 from 10.2.0 before 10.2.18-h12 | Not stated |
| Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access | Not stated | All is not affected |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: palo_alto_networks_inc. pan-os, paloaltonetworks pan-os.
How to fix it
Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 12.2.4, 12.1.10-h2, 11.2.16, 11.1.16-h3, 10.2.18-h12.
CISA required action: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset’s internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines.
Vendor guidance:
- https://security.paloaltonetworks.com/CVE-2026-0322 (vendor-advisory)
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
Advisories on this CVE
- PAN-OS GlobalProtect auth bypass (CVE-2026-0257) (14 Oct 2026)
References
Vendor advisories and patches
- https://security.paloaltonetworks.com/CVE-2026-0322 (vendor-advisory)
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-0322 (government-resource)
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.