CVE-2025-48700: Synacor Zimbra Collaboration Suite (ZCS) Cross-site Scripting Vulnerability

Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.

Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.

What it is

An issue was discovered in Zimbra Collaboration (ZCS) 8.8.15 and 9.0 and 10.0 and 10.1. A Cross-Site Scripting (XSS) vulnerability in the Zimbra Classic UI allows attackers to execute arbitrary JavaScript within the user’s session, potentially leading to unauthorized access to sensitive information. This issue arises from insufficient sanitization of HTML content, specifically involving crafted tag structures and attribute values that include an @import directive and other script injection vectors. The vulnerability is triggered when a user views a crafted e-mail message in the Classic UI, requiring no additional user interaction.

Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by mitre, published 2025-06-23).

Weakness: CWE-79 Improper Neutralization of Input During Web Page Generation (‘Cross-site Scripting’)

How it can be exploited

Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity needing no privileges and a user must take an action. Impact: confidentiality low, integrity low, availability none. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:C/C:L/I:L/A:N

CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: partial.

On CISA KEV since
2026-04-20
US federal deadline
2026-04-23
Ransomware use
Not known

Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)

Also known as: BDU:2025-12729, CNNVD-202506-2953, EUVD-2025-18891, GHSA-wmq6-ffv7-gqwf

Exploit Observer has no public exploit code that names this CVE or one of its aliases.

Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (6)

Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.

11 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.

VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.

Live scores

EPSS
0.017
some chance of attack soon
VEDAS
0.516
some exploit evidence
On CISA KEV
Yes, since 2026-04-20
Detection rule
None yet
EPSS (chance of attack)
10No cve-scores data 2026-02-22 to 2026-08-08no data0.1Added to CISA KEV 2026-04-20CVE-2025-48700 EPSS over time2025-062026-11-01
VEDAS (exploit evidence)
10No cve-scores data 2026-02-22 to 2026-08-08no data0.9Added to CISA KEV 2026-04-20CVE-2025-48700 VEDAS over time2025-062026-11-01

Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish. The vertical line is the day CISA added it to its exploited list.

Who is affected

ProductAffectedNot affected
Not statedversion n/aNot stated

Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.

How to fix it

CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.

Vendor guidance:

How to detect it

There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.

References

Government sources

Other references

Other databases

Where this comes from

This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.