CVE-2025-47827: IGEL OS Use of a Key Past its Expiration Date Vulnerability

Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.

Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.

What it is

In IGEL OS before 11, Secure Boot can be bypassed because the igel-flash-driver module improperly verifies a cryptographic signature. Ultimately, a crafted root filesystem can be mounted from an unverified SquashFS image.

Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by mitre, published 2025-06-05).

Weakness: CWE-347 Improper Verification of Cryptographic Signature

How it can be exploited

Exploitable with physical access with low attack complexity needing no privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality none, integrity none, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:P/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H

CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: partial.

On CISA KEV since
2025-10-14
US federal deadline
2025-11-04
Ransomware use
Not known

Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)

Also known as: BDU:2025-12993, CNNVD-202506-457, EUVD-2025-16999, GHSA-pww7-j9v6-xc6j

Exploit Observer links 1 piece of public exploit code or detection modules that name this CVE or one of its aliases.

Exploit code and modules (1)

Code that names this CVE. A repository can be a working exploit, a scanner, a fake or malware; read it before running anything.

Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (7)

Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.

56 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.

VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.

Live scores

EPSS
0.052
some chance of attack soon
VEDAS
0.704
some exploit evidence
On CISA KEV
Yes, since 2025-10-14
Detection rule
Out of scope (local)
EPSS (chance of attack)
10No cve-scores data 2026-02-22 to 2026-08-08no data0.1Added to CISA KEV 2025-10-14CVE-2025-47827 EPSS over time2025-062026-11-01
VEDAS (exploit evidence)
10No cve-scores data 2026-02-22 to 2026-08-08no data0.9Added to CISA KEV 2025-10-14CVE-2025-47827 VEDAS over time2025-062026-11-01

Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish. The vertical line is the day CISA added it to its exploited list.

Who is affected

ProductAffectedNot affected
Not statedversion n/aNot stated

Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.

How to fix it

CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.

Vendor guidance:

How to detect it

This bug needs local access to exploit. VEDAS signatures cover remotely exploitable bugs for now, so there is no network rule or remote check for it. Patch it and watch your endpoint telemetry for unusual local activity.

References

Vendor advisories and patches

Government sources

Other references

Other databases

Where this comes from

This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.