CVE-2025-43510: Apple Multiple Products Improper Locking Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
A memory corruption issue was addressed with improved lock state checking. This issue is fixed in iOS 18.7.2 and iPadOS 18.7.2, iOS 26.1 and iPadOS 26.1, macOS Sequoia 15.7.2, macOS Sonoma 14.8.2, macOS Tahoe 26.1, tvOS 26.1, visionOS 26.1, watchOS 26.1. A malicious application may cause unexpected changes in memory shared between processes.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by apple, published 2025-12-12).
Weakness: CWE-667 Improper Locking
How it can be exploited
Exploitable with local access with low attack complexity needing no privileges and a user must take an action. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: total.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2026-03-20
- US federal deadline
- 2026-04-03
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: CNNVD-202512-2290, EUVD-2025-203138, GHSA-jw27-39xw-8fjx
Exploit Observer has no public exploit code that names this CVE or one of its aliases.
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (5)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2025-203138
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-jw27-39xw-8fjx
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2025-43510
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2025-43510
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cnnvd.org.cn/home/globalSearch?keyword=CNNVD-202512-2290
9 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.004
low predicted chance of attack - VEDAS
- 0.506
some exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2026-03-20
- Detection rule
- Out of scope (local)
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish. The vertical line is the day CISA added it to its exploited list.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Apple iOS and iPadOS | before 18.7.2 before 26.1 | Not stated |
| Apple macOS | before 14.8.2 before 15.7.2 before 26.1 | Not stated |
| Apple tvOS | before 26.1 | Not stated |
| Apple visionOS | before 26.1 | Not stated |
| Apple watchOS | before 26.1 | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: apple ipados, apple iphone_os, apple macos, apple tvos, apple visionos, apple watchos.
How to fix it
Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 18.7.2, 26.1, 14.8.2, 15.7.2.
CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Vendor guidance:
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125632
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125633
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125634
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125635
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125636
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125637
How to detect it
This bug needs local access to exploit. VEDAS signatures cover remotely exploitable bugs for now, so there is no network rule or remote check for it. Patch it and watch your endpoint telemetry for unusual local activity.
References
Exploits and technical analysis
- https://cloud.google.com/blog/topics/threat-intelligence/darksword-ios-exploit-chain/ (third-party-advisory)
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2025-43510 (government-resource)
Other references
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125632
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125633
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125634
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125635
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125636
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125637
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125638
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/125639
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.