CVE-2025-43200: Apple Multiple Products Unspecified Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
This issue was addressed with improved checks. This issue is fixed in iOS 15.8.4 and iPadOS 15.8.4, iOS 16.7.11 and iPadOS 16.7.11, iOS 18.3.1 and iPadOS 18.3.1, iPadOS 17.7.5, macOS Sequoia 15.3.1, macOS Sonoma 14.7.4, macOS Ventura 13.7.4, visionOS 2.3.1, watchOS 11.3.1. A logic issue existed when processing a maliciously crafted photo or video shared via an iCloud Link. Apple is aware of a report that this issue may have been exploited in an extremely sophisticated attack against specific targeted individuals.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by apple, published 2025-06-16).
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with high attack complexity needing no privileges and a user must take an action. Impact: confidentiality low, integrity low, availability none. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:L/I:L/A:N
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: partial.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2025-06-16
- US federal deadline
- 2025-07-07
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2025-07428, CNNVD-202506-1940, EUVD-2025-18428, GHSA-whff-4x34-r5vx
Exploit Observer links 1 piece of public exploit code or detection modules that name this CVE or one of its aliases.
Exploit code and modules (1)
Code that names this CVE. A repository can be a working exploit, a scanner, a fake or malware; read it before running anything.
- Code repository: https://github.com/allinsthon/cve-2025-43200
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (5)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2025-18428
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-whff-4x34-r5vx
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2025-43200
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2025-43200
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cnnvd.org.cn/home/globalSearch?keyword=CNNVD-202506-1940
79 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.012
some chance of attack soon - VEDAS
- 0.741
some exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2025-06-16
- Detection rule
- None yet
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Apple iOS and iPadOS | before 15.8.4 before 16.7.11 before 18.3.1 | Not stated |
| Apple iPadOS | before 17.7.5 | Not stated |
| Apple macOS | before 13.7.4 before 14.7.4 before 15.3.1 | Not stated |
| Apple visionOS | before 2.3.1 | Not stated |
| Apple watchOS | before 11.3.1 | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: apple ipados, apple iphone_os, apple macos, apple visionos, apple watchos, apple_inc. ios, apple_inc. ipados, apple_inc. macos, apple_inc. visionos, apple_inc. watchos.
How to fix it
Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 15.8.4, 16.7.11, 18.3.1, 17.7.5, 13.7.4, 14.7.4, 15.3.1, 2.3.1, 11.3.1.
CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Vendor guidance:
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122174
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122173
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122900
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122901
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122902
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122903
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
References
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2025-43200 (government-resource)
Other references
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122173
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122174
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122345
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122346
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122900
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122901
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122902
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122903
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/122904
- https://citizenlab.ca/2025/06/first-forensic-confirmation-of-paragons-ios-mercenary-spyware-finds-journalists-targeted/
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.