CVE-2025-24472: Fortinet FortiOS and FortiProxy Authentication Bypass Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
An Authentication Bypass Using an Alternate Path or Channel vulnerability [CWE-288] affecting FortiOS 7.0.0 through 7.0.16 and FortiProxy 7.2.0 through 7.2.12, 7.0.0 through 7.0.19 may allow a remote unauthenticated attacker with prior knowledge of upstream and downstream devices serial numbers to gain super-admin privileges on the downstream device, if the Security Fabric is enabled, via crafted CSF proxy requests.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by fortinet, published 2025-02-11).
Weakness: Execute unauthorized code or commands
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with high attack complexity needing no privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H/E:H/RL:O/RC:C
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: total.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2025-03-18
- US federal deadline
- 2025-04-08
- Ransomware use
- Yes
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2025-01474, CNNVD-202502-1026, EUVD-2025-3725, GHSA-rp3f-whm7-36hq
Exploit Observer links 1 piece of public exploit code or detection modules that name this CVE or one of its aliases.
Exploit code and modules (1)
Code that names this CVE. A repository can be a working exploit, a scanner, a fake or malware; read it before running anything.
Research and write-ups (1)
- Research or write-up: https://old.rapid7.com/db/vulnerabilities/fortios-cve-2025-24472
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (6)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/cve-2025-24472
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2025-3725
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-rp3f-whm7-36hq
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2025-24472
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2025-24472
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cnnvd.org.cn/home/globalSearch?keyword=CNNVD-202502-1026
119 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.072
some chance of attack soon - VEDAS
- 0.751
some exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2025-03-18
- Detection rule
- None yet
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Fortinet FortiOS | from 7.0.0 up to and including 7.0.16 | Not stated |
| Fortinet FortiProxy | from 7.2.0 up to and including 7.2.12 from 7.0.0 up to and including 7.0.19 | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: fortinet fortios, fortinet fortiproxy, fortinet_inc. fortios, fortinet_inc. fortiproxy.
How to fix it
CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Vendor guidance:
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
Advisories on this CVE
- #StopRansomware AA26-222A: Gunra ransomware (10 Aug 2026)
References
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2025-24472 (government-resource)
Other references
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.