CVE-2025-0111: Palo Alto Networks PAN-OS File Read Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
An authenticated file read vulnerability in the Palo Alto Networks PAN-OS software enables an authenticated attacker with network access to the management web interface to read files on the PAN-OS filesystem that are readable by the “nobody” user. You can greatly reduce the risk of this issue by restricting access to the management web interface to only trusted internal IP addresses according to our recommended best practices deployment guidelines https://live.paloaltonetworks.com/t5/community-blogs/tips-amp-tricks-how-to-secure-the-management-access-of-your-palo/ba-p/464431 . This issue does not affect Cloud NGFW or Prisma Access software.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by palo_alto, published 2025-02-12).
Weakness: CWE-73: External Control of File Name or Path
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity with no special attack requirements needing low privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity none, availability none. CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:H/VI:N/VA:N/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N/AU:N/R:U/V:C/RE:M/U:Red
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: partial.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2025-02-20
- US federal deadline
- 2025-03-13
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2025-02463, CNNVD-202502-1363, EUVD-2025-1508, GHSA-wmcv-pj3g-38rp
Exploit Observer has no public exploit code that names this CVE or one of its aliases.
Research and write-ups (1)
- Research or write-up: https://www.rapid7.com/db/vulnerabilities/palo-alto-networks-pan-os-cve-2025-0111
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (8)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/cve-2025-0111
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2025-1508
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-wmcv-pj3g-38rp
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2025-0111
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://security.paloaltonetworks.com/CVE-2025-0111
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2025-0111
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cnnvd.org.cn/home/globalSearch?keyword=CNNVD-202502-1363
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.tenable.com/cve/CVE-2025-0111
63 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.020
some chance of attack soon - VEDAS
- 0.699
some exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2025-02-20
- Detection rule
- None yet
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Palo Alto Networks Cloud NGFW | Not stated | All is not affected |
| Palo Alto Networks PAN-OS | from 10.1.0 before 10.1.14-h9 from 10.2.0 before 10.2.7-h24 from 11.1.0 before 11.1.6-h1 from 11.2.0 before 11.2.4-h4 | Not stated |
| Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access | Not stated | All is not affected |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: palo_alto_networks_inc. pan-os, paloaltonetworks pan-os.
How to fix it
Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 10.1.14-h9, 10.2.7-h24, 11.1.6-h1, 11.2.4-h4.
CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Vendor guidance:
- https://security.paloaltonetworks.com/CVE-2025-0111 (vendor-advisory)
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
References
Vendor advisories and patches
- https://security.paloaltonetworks.com/CVE-2025-0111 (vendor-advisory)
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2025-0111 (government-resource)
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.