CVE-2024-37079: Broadcom VMware vCenter Server Out-of-bounds Write Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
vCenter Server contains a heap-overflow vulnerability in the implementation of the DCERPC protocol. A malicious actor with network access to vCenter Server may trigger this vulnerability by sending a specially crafted network packet potentially leading to remote code execution.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by vmware, published 2024-06-18).
Weakness: CWE-787 Out-of-bounds Write
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity needing no privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: yes. Technical impact: total.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2026-01-23
- US federal deadline
- 2026-02-13
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2024-04649, CNNVD-202406-1978, EUVD-2024-36412, GHSA-qqfg-j9g4-4mfh
Exploit Observer links 1 piece of public exploit code or detection modules that name this CVE or one of its aliases.
Exploit code and modules (1)
Code that names this CVE. A repository can be a working exploit, a scanner, a fake or malware; read it before running anything.
- Code repository: https://github.com/v3rce/cve-2024-37079-rce-poc
Research and write-ups (1)
- Research or write-up: https://www.rapid7.com/db/vulnerabilities/vmsa-2024-0012-cve-2024-37079-vcenter
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (6)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2024-36412
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-qqfg-j9g4-4mfh
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-37079
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2024-37079
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cnnvd.org.cn/home/globalSearch?keyword=CNNVD-202406-1978
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.tenable.com/cve/CVE-2024-37079
76 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.224
likely to be attacked soon - VEDAS
- 0.720
some exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2026-01-23
- Detection rule
- None yet
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish. The vertical line is the day CISA added it to its exploited list.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| VMware vCenter Server | from 8.0 before 8.0 U2d from 8.0 before 8.0 U1e from 7.0 before 7.0 U3r | Not stated |
| VMware Cloud Foundation | version 5.x version 4.x | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
Exploit Observer also maps it to: broadcom_inc. vmware_cloud_foundation, broadcom_inc. vmware_vcenter_server, vmware cloud_foundation, vmware vcenter_server.
How to fix it
Fixed versions stated in the CVE record: 8.0 U2d, 8.0 U1e, 7.0 U3r.
CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Vendor guidance:
- https://support.broadcom.com/web/ecx/support-content-notification/-/external/content/SecurityAdvisories/0/24453
- https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2024-37079
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
References
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2024-37079 (government-resource)
Other references
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.