CVE-2018-9276: Paessler PRTG Network Monitor OS Command Injection Vulnerability
Advisory generated from the CVE record, CISA, Exploit Observer and VEDAS: what it is, whether it is exploited, who is affected, and how to fix and detect it.
Generated by VEDAS. Scores as of 2026-11-01 19:19 UTC. Rebuilt every few hours from cve-scores, CISA KEV and vedas-signatures. How this works and its limits.
What it is
An issue was discovered in PRTG Network Monitor before 18.2.39. An attacker who has access to the PRTG System Administrator web console with administrative privileges can exploit an OS command injection vulnerability (both on the server and on devices) by sending malformed parameters in sensor or notification management scenarios.
Description quoted from the CVE record (assigned by mitre, published 2018-07-02).
Weakness: CWE-78 Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in an OS Command (‘OS Command Injection’)
How it can be exploited
Exploitable over the network with low attack complexity needing high privileges and no user interaction. Impact: confidentiality high, integrity high, availability high. CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
CISA assessment (SSVC): CISA assesses exploitation as active. Automatable: no. Technical impact: total.
- On CISA KEV since
- 2025-02-04
- US federal deadline
- 2025-02-25
- Ransomware use
- Not known
Public exploit evidence (Exploit Observer)
Also known as: BDU:2026-00356, CNNVD-201807-062, CNVD-2018-12246, EDB-46527, EUVD-2018-20870, GHSA-cjqq-8xv6-575p
VEDAS cluster: VEDAS:BOUNCEDBEAR
Exploit Observer links 8 pieces of public exploit code or detection modules that name this CVE or one of its aliases.
Exploit code and modules (8)
Code that names this CVE. A repository can be a working exploit, a scanner, a fake or malware; read it before running anything.
- Exploit-DB: https://www.exploit-db.com/raw/46527
- Code repository: https://github.com/a1vinsmith/cve-2018-9276
- Code repository: https://github.com/ac8999/prtg-network-monitor-18.2.38---authenticated-remote-code-execution-cve-2018-9276
- Code repository: https://github.com/alvinsmith-eroad/cve-2018-9276
- Code repository: https://github.com/andyfeili/cve-2018-9276
- Code repository: https://github.com/bardlaudian/cve-2018-9276
- Code repository: https://github.com/mmezirard/cve-2018-9276
- Code repository: https://github.com/wildkindcc/cve-2018-9276
Vulnerability databases and vendor advisories (6)
Catalogue entries, not exploit evidence.
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://euvd.enisa.europa.eu/enisa/EUVD-2018-20870
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://github.com/advisories/GHSA-cjqq-8xv6-575p
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2018-9276
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2018-9276
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cnnvd.org.cn/home/globalSearch?keyword=CNNVD-201807-062
- Vulnerability database or vendor advisory: https://www.cnvd.org.cn/flaw/show/CNVD-2018-12246
39 more references returned by Exploit Observer did not name this CVE or an alias, so they are left out.
VEDAS data as of 2026-11-01T17:12 UTC; fetched 2026-11-02.
Live scores
- EPSS
- 0.870
very likely to be attacked soon - VEDAS
- 0.983
strong exploit evidence - On CISA KEV
- Yes, since 2025-02-04
- Detection rule
- None yet
Thin horizontal line: the “likely” (EPSS 0.10) or “strong” (VEDAS 0.90) threshold. Shaded “no data” areas are periods when cve-scores did not publish.
Who is affected
| Product | Affected | Not affected |
|---|---|---|
| Not stated | version n/a | Not stated |
Version ranges exactly as the CVE record states them. “Before X” means X is the first fixed version.
How to fix it
CISA required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
Vendor guidance:
How to detect it
There is no open VEDAS detection rule for this bug yet. It is listed on the detection gaps page if CISA has confirmed attacks.
References
Exploits and technical analysis
- 46527 (exploit, x_refsource_EXPLOIT-DB)
Government sources
- https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2018-9276 (government-resource)
Other references
- http://packetstormsecurity.com/files/148334/PRTG-Command-Injection.html (x_refsource_MISC)
- 20180626 PRTG < 18.2.39 Command Injection (mailing-list, x_refsource_BUGTRAQ)
- http://packetstormsecurity.com/files/161183/PRTG-Network-Monitor-Remote-Code-Execution.html (x_refsource_MISC)
Other databases
Where this comes from
This advisory is generated automatically by VEDAS from: CVE.org record, CISA KEV, cve-scores (EPSS and VEDAS), Exploit Observer. Text in quotes is reproduced from the source; everything else is a fixed template filled with source fields. Nothing here is written by a language model. Check the vendor advisory before acting, and read how VEDAS and Exploit Observer work, and their limits.